Introducing: Baby August!

It’s been over six weeks since my last post, but I have the best excuse there is … introducing baby August!

juliesterlingphoto_august_001

juliesterlingphoto_august_002

juliesterlingphoto_august_003

He is amazing (and time-consuming, hence no posts!). His newborn photoshoot at one week old was a hilarious few hours of disaster and beauty! I’ve never had a more difficult newborn session than with my own kid. All he wanted to do was eat! We actually had to delay taking any photographs for almost two hours because he just kept nursing. And when we finally did get started, he peed everywhere the second I took off his diaper. So, the diaper stayed on for the remainder of the shoot! He was still a stellar subject, of course, and too cute not to photograph.

My wonderful husband took these winning shots in the hospital on the day Augie was born:

juliesterlingphoto_august_004

I especially love how zen he looks in his first bath!

We’ve been enjoying our boy at home and have loved having a bevy of visitors and helpers in these early weeks. I cannot believe the little guy is already six weeks old! Here he is, looking much more mature in his one-month photos:

juliesterlingphoto_august_005

Parents everywhere – hire a photographer for your new bundle of joy! It is so worth it to have these precious images, reminders of this wondrous, challenging, and above all, fleeting period in your life.

I’ll get back to work soon enough, but for now, it’s just me and my little family, getting to know each other better every day.

Love, Julie

8 Comments

Filed under Babies, Personal

8 responses to “Introducing: Baby August!

  1. Julie, He is precious – enjoy every second, you’re right it is such a fleeting time and it should be captured!! He is beautiful, congratulations!!
    xoxo
    heather

  2. Jeanne Wells

    Julie, is there a word bigger and better than gorgeous???? What a beautiful person you have brought into this world. Absolutely perfect and ever so special. You are a very lucky mama. My favorite photo is the second one of him wrapped in blue/turquoise. I swear, he’s staring right at me. He looks familiar already so he has the expression of someone in your family. You said he looks zen-like in the bath. With that big belly he looks kinda Buddah-ish. I know the whole of Santa Monica has come to visit you and August…and papa too. I can’t wait for you all to visit Santa Monica. The sand and waves are calling to him to come surfing.

    I’m so happy for you. The sweetest sweet pea is the result of all the hard times during your pregnancy…the good times too. I can say He is worth every moment. Here’s to many more moments which do go by fast so don’t blink. Motherhood is the best journey in the world….well, it may be surpassed by grandmahood. Take care, Love, Jeanne (Wells)

    >________________________________ > From: Julie Sterling >To: jejosh01@yahoo.com >Sent: Wednesday, March 20, 2013 4:25 PM >Subject: [New post] Introducing: Baby August! > > > WordPress.com >juliesterling144 posted: “It’s been over six weeks since my last post, but I have the best excuse there is … introducing baby August! He is amazing (and time-consuming, hence no posts!). His newborn photoshoot at one week old was a hilarious few hours of disaster and beau” >

  3. Alison eastwood

    Julie, one month August is the spitting image of you when you were that old! Love love love all the photos. Thanks for alll the blood, sweat, and pee in getting these up for us all.
    Xo alison

  4. grandma Sally

    I so love all of the pictures and am filling myn iPad with all I can find!

  5. Pingback: Baby August at 3 Months | Julie Sterling

  6. Pingback: August at 6 Months Old | Julie Sterling

Leave a Reply

