Wedding: Evan & Sara at the Temple for Performing Arts, Des Moines, Iowa

It was my pleasure to photograph the wedding of a college friend, Evan, and his beautiful bride, Sara, and what a wedding weekend it was! My husband and I and Evan all met freshman year of college, so I’ve known this dude a long time. It was so wonderful to see him on his wedding day and to capture it all with my camera! I had not met Sara before arriving in Iowa two days before the wedding, but I liked her instantly and fell in love with her timeless style. Check out her gorgeous personal details – the dress, the shoes, the jewelry, all perfect!

My husband was a groomsman, as was another one of our best friends from college, so I really got into taking a ton of prep photos! I attended Sara’s bachelorette party a few nights before, as well (and downtown Des Moines is super fun!), so I felt as if I knew her bridal party well, too. Behold, the lovely ladies and handsome gentlemen as they all get ready:

Sara and Evan chose to do a first look, which I love, and we did their portraits beforehand as well. Aren’t they the cutest? And what a great wedding party – they were up for anything, even an empty parking lot!

Before we knew it, it was time for the ceremony at the Temple for Performing Arts. It is such a cool building … very art deco and grand on the inside.

When I don’t have an assistant with me, it’s nice to have my husband help me test the lighting …

The evening was so much fun, full of heartfelt speeches, animated dancing, and a belated birthday surprise for the groom – a huge sparkler on a piece of cake!

Thank you both so much, Evan and Sara, for having me there as more than your guest! Congratulations!

Venue: Temple for Performing Arts, Des Moines

Cake: Cake Me, I’m Yours!

Flowers: Hy-Vee

Hair and Makeup: Salon Spa W

Leave a comment

Filed under Weddings

Leave a Reply

