New Orleans: Imaging USA 2012

All these New Orleans posts, and none touching on the primary reason I visited! None until now that is …

My good friend Lucie Wicker and I traveled down to NOLA first and foremost to attend the 2012 Imaging USA conference and trade show (and to eat and sight-see and have fun, but the conference comes first, I suppose). This was our first big event like this, and let me tell you, it was completely overwhelming and wonderful and crazy all in one.

First off, we took 3-5 courses per day during this three day extravaganza, and the first session started at 7:00AM each morning. That is early for me. I know I’m super-spoiled, but 7AM three days in a row on what I mentally construed as a vacation … tough. We did it, though, and I learned a ton from the likes of Zach and Jody Gray, Jerry Ghionis, Julie Klaasmeyer, Julieanne Kost, Robert Evans, Kenny Kim, Joey L, Damon Tucci, Jim Garner, and Prem Mukherjee. Whew! I’m exhausted just thinking about that schedule again. But it was totally and completely worth it. I am a note-taker, and I have pages and pages of notes from these sessions that are totally going to help me and my business.

And then there was the trade show.

Want stuff to start your own baby studio? They have that:

Want to fall in love with an album company you heard was cool but needed to see in person to judge just how cool? That would be Finao, who I am now completely in love with. They had a stunning booth complete with Moroccan hookah lounge theme:

Need frames? Or Jerry Ghionis’s new “ice light” being strutted around by 6-foot-tall models in stilettos, wearing aviators to shield their eyes from its magnificence? It’s all here …

Moo, one of my favorite companies, and a million others selling custom cards and more were all there, too:

You could also see wonderful exhibits of quality photography. We found an image by one of our photography professors at the Nikon booth: Rob Van Petten! Lucie is excited about this amidst the madness of the trade show:

It’s an insane onslaught of consumerism, yes, but it’s also great to see all the products in person. I managed not to spend hardly any money, either. Yay, me!

And that, my friends, is Imaging USA. I didn’t even get into the parties – oh yes, there were parties. The Big Bayou Bash and the Peach Jam, y’all, to get us ready for 2013 in Atlanta. I don’t know if I’ll be attending next year, but this experience was great. I loved New Orleans, and three days of intensive learning and product education was amazing. Thanks for coming with me, Lucie!!!

5 Comments

Filed under Event, New Orleans, Personal

5 responses to “New Orleans: Imaging USA 2012

  1. So glad you got a lot out of Imaging USA. Thank you for attending my talk. I hope it was helpful! Have a great week. 🙂

  2. Pingback: New Orleans: Around Town | Julie Sterling

Leave a Reply

