Holiday Favorite: Mince Pies

Holidays mean baking, right? Are you with me? From cookies to kugel to gingerbread houses and other sweet treats, I have loads of lovely holiday food memories. One began in high school when I walked into my friend Zoë’s kitchen to find her British mother baking hundreds of little mincemeat pies. Ever since, I’ve always associated these delicious tartlets with Christmas (even though I don’t celebrate it), and for the past few years, with the help of my husband who is a whiz at rolling out dough, I’ve successfully made my own mince pies!

These morsels of goodness are addictive. I had to immediately package up the majority of the four dozen we made so as not to eat them. Family, you’ll thank me later when I arrive in LA with my tupperware of pie amazingness, uneaten and ready for you to enjoy.

I use this recipe from Joy of Baking: www.joyofbaking.com/MincePies.html.

What’s your favorite holiday recipe?

2 Comments

Filed under Food, Personal

2 responses to “Holiday Favorite: Mince Pies

  1. My favorite is chocolate peanut butter/coconut golfballs! Everyone in my Mom’s family makes them.

  2. Doug Williams

    Tyler did not learn to be an expert at rolling pastry dough from me. Thank you for taking pictures of these, Julie. Otherwise, it’s – now you see ’em, now you don’t.

Leave a Reply

