My Nephew! Owain at 4 Weeks Old

On July 15th, Tyler and I became Aunt and Uncle for the first time! Tyler’s older brother and his wife welcomed their first child, a healthy baby boy named Owain (that’s Welsh, pronounced OH-wine). You are all familiar with Gwennan, my gorgeous sister-in-law, who modeled for me during her pregnancy (see posts here and here); now she is a glowing new mother to an adorable son! Tyler and I could not wait to travel to DC to visit the newest member of our family, and submit him to the first of many photoshoots, of course.

Introducing: Owain!

In preparation for our visit, I spent some time knitting baby props, the little pod above, and a hat, which was waaaaay too small for Owain. He is a big baby! We perched it on his head, though, and tried it out nonetheless!

Born at 8 lbs. 12 oz., Owain follows in the pattern of his father and my husband and their brothers, who were all big babies. At four weeks old, Owain continues to tip the scales and is in the 98th percentile for weight, above the curve for length! Uncle Tyler’s already got him pegged for the rugby field in the future!

Both of Owain’s crafty grandmothers made him baby blankets, one knit and one quilted. They are beautiful! Even more so with little nephew lying on them:

Now, is this a happy new family, or what?

Tyler and I are proud Aunt and Uncle, too. I couldn’t get enough of holding this baby!

It was only a few days’ visit, but it was so lovely to meet the newest member of the family. I think of how important my aunts are to me, and it makes me so happy to be one!

All our love, nephew!

5 Comments

Filed under Babies, Personal, Portraits

5 responses to “My Nephew! Owain at 4 Weeks Old

  1. Pingback: Why My Thought News Posting Rate Has Slowed (with Photos) « Thought News

  2. Congratulations, Auntie Julie! Your little nephew is just precious…my favorite is the b&w shot looking down at him in the snuggle sack you made and the one of his chubby legs against the yellow pillow. Just adorable.

  3. Pingback: Thanksgiving 2011, or, Owain is 4 Months Old! | Julie Sterling

  4. Pingback: The Nephew on his First Birthday! | Julie Sterling

Leave a Reply

