Maternity Shoot: Gwennan at 21 Weeks

Or was it 22 weeks? It was the end of February, and my gorgeous and pregnant sister-in-law, Gwennan, allowed me to photograph her. Let’s call it 21.5 weeks just to be safe.

Gwenn lives in Washington, DC and Tyler’s rugby schedule had us flying in for the weekend. It was a very quick trip, but I made sure to schedule some time with Gwenn to capture her midway through her first pregnancy. This is the first grandchild for our family, so it is extra exciting!

Gwenn is a beauty, pregnant or not, no doubt about it:

While Tyler played rugby and his brother, Conor (Gwenn’s hubby) dutifully went to watch the game, Gwenn and I stayed home for our photo shoot.

I think pregnancy is especially beautiful, so it is such a joy to be around moms-to-be for me. Gwenn and I are close, and I think this allowed me to bring out some very open and natural expressions in her. My challenge will be to do this with other pregnant women I hope to photograph in the future, with women I’ve just met!

Gwenn is due in July, and I’ll be back in June for her baby shower (and another photoshoot), and again in August to meet my new niece or nephew (and photograph him or her)! I think it will be wonderful to document the course of Gwenn’s pregnancy, and its amazing culmination!

After a while, we decided to bare the belly! Isn’t it the most incredible thing ever? I just can’t ever get over how amazing pregnancy is. Billions of women have gone through it, but each individual case is so special and such an honor to be a part of.

Thank you, Gwennan, for being a willing subject for my lens. You look gorgeous! Can’t wait to see you again soon!

P.S. Today is Gwenn’s birthday, so wish her many happy returns!

8 Comments

Filed under DC, Maternity, Personal, Portraits

8 responses to “Maternity Shoot: Gwennan at 21 Weeks

  1. Ann

    Julie,
    Thanks! These are gorgeous photos – and to post them on her birthday is particularly special.
    You are very talented!

    Ann

  2. Angharad

    Julie.

    These pictures are beautiful. Thank you for documenting my sisters pregnancy! I was very excited to see her this weekend.

    Gwennan- penblwydd hapus! Love you very much.

    cariad,
    angharad

    • Thanks, Angharad! I hope you had a nice weekend together, even in the circumstances. I was sorry to hear about your grandfather, but I’m glad you all got to see each other.

      I love documenting Gwenn’s pregnancy and I am so happy to be able to give the family a documentation of it! I really do feel lucky to have her as my sister-in-law (and to have you and your fam in my life, too).

      I hope we see each other again soon!

      XO

  3. Pingback: Maternity Photoshoot: Gwennan at 35 Weeks, Plus, A Baby Party! | Julie Sterling

  4. Pingback: My Nephew! Owain at 4 Weeks Old | Julie Sterling

  5. Pingback: Thanksgiving 2011, or, Owain is 4 Months Old! | Julie Sterling

  6. Pingback: The Nephew on his First Birthday! | Julie Sterling

Leave a Reply

