Newborn Photoshoot, Starring: Casey and Emma

Last week I did my very first newborn photoshoot. Little Casey was only seven days old and so so so tiny! She cooperated amazingly well, as did big sister Emma. They are such the darling pair of girls and I felt so lucky to peek into their lives for the morning.

For babies this small, a home visit is a must. Casey was warm and comfy in her adorable little outfits or swathed in blankets. I love how everything in a newborn’s environment is soft and comfortable!

With babies and kids, you want to capture them as they are, because as they are is just perfect. I do hardly any positioning or directing of kids because it’s just not necessary (and they usually won’t listen anyway!).

Emma is a very sweet big sister; at only twenty months, she’s really taken to her new sibling well.

Though, she likes the dog just as much 🙂

I was only with the family for an hour, but managed to get quite a few nice shots. I suppose with such angelic subjects, it was inevitable!

Then there are the shots the parents might not love, but I do: the crying shots. There is something sweet and universal about a crying child, and two crying children together? That’s life!

I really hope to do more newborn and kid shoots as I progress in my career; capturing these special days is so priceless and such a privilege. I can’t think of anything more fun for a baby-lover like me!

1 Comment

Filed under Babies, Kids, Portraits

One response to “Newborn Photoshoot, Starring: Casey and Emma

  1. Your NJ Other mother

    Hi Julie
    Your photos are getting better and better.Loved the baby pictures
    Love Lori

Leave a Reply

